top of page


Oct 4, 2021

Two kennels had multiple winners in the first round as the $100,000 Mountaineer Classic kicked off Sunday afternoon at Wheeling Island with a field of 70 sprinters.

Three Blanchard Kennel greyhounds – Frappe, JS Rob Stone and Penrose Boss – and a pair of Steve Sarras racers – CTW Black Forest and LK’s Trubulee – captured first round victories.

Other winners in the initial qualifying round were O Ya Bobbie Sue (Lester Raines Kennel), Ding Dong Ditch (Imark Kennel), Dark Guinness (Xtrem Hess Racing Kennel) and Abbi’s Eagle (Jacobs Racing Kennel).

Each winner accumulated 15 points.

The second round is set for Friday afternoon, Oct. 8. The tentative plan is to cut the field to 48 greyhounds after the second qualifying round.

The third preliminary round is scheduled for Wednesday matinee, Oct. 13. The field will tentatively be cut to 24 sprinters, but could be higher, for the semifinal round on Sunday afternoon, Oct. 17.

The championship final will be held during the matinee card on Saturday, Oct. 23.

Points accumulated after the first round follow:

15 POINTS: O Ya Bobbie Sue (Lester Raines), Ding Dong Ditch (Imark), CTW Black Forest (Steve Sarras), LK’s Trubulee (Steve Sarras), Frappe (Blanchard), JS Rob Stone (Blanchard), Penrose Boss (Blanchard), Dark Guinness (Xtrem Hess Racing), Abbi’s Eagle (Jacobs Racing).

10 POINTS: JS Slush Fund (Lester Raines), JS Saltythursday (Lester Raines), RS’s Dark Night (Lester Raines), Turbo Walt (Code Red), Clap Back (Imark), Easi Vesurio (Blanchard), BO’s Tracy (Blanchard), Frogman (Blanchard), WW Grandiose (Wayne Ward).

7 POINTS: Tickle Ur Fancy (Imark), Imark Mash (Imark), Easi Volsina (Blanchard), Barts Worthwhile (Charter), Memphis Minnie (Wayne Ward), BGR Bigfoot (Brad Boeckenstedt), Hi Noon Ricochet (Jacobs Racing), Gettin My Buz On (Jacobs Racing), RHT Marylynn (Xtrem Hess Racing.

5 POINTS: Day Drinking (Imark), Easi Kadeem (Blanchard), KB’s Copy Kat (Charter), Oshkosh Dally (Charter), Jack Parkman (Charter), Eau Claire (Charter), Oshkosh Edward (Charter), WW Go Chiefs Go (Wayne Ward).

4 POINTS: Vegas (Patriot/Taplin), UBX Unclesweater (Xtrem Hess Racing).

3 POINTS: CTW Cant Stop It (Lester Raines), Craigie Daughtry (Lester Raines), Super C Amega (Lester Raines), Atascocita Amity (Code Red), Slatex Jackson (Jacobs Racing), CTW Smores To Go (Xtrem Hess Racing), Axtrem Flicker (Xtrem Hess Racing), T’s Iron Man (Xtrem Hess Racing).

2 POINTS: JS Shock Therapy (Lester Raines), Ponda Waco Hound (Code Red), Atascocita Birma (Code Red), Saber Fire (Imark), LK’s Santorini (Steve Sarras), BGR Out Of Mind (Brad Boeckenstedt), Abbi’s Frontman (Jacobs Racing), Denali Darlin (Jacobs Racing), Pat C Inferno (Rangel).

1 POINT: Teaser’s Tickle (Lester Raines), Sumkindawondrful (Imark), CTW Bahati (Steve Sarras), Lily Lazer (Blanchard), WW Holdin Fast (Wayne Ward), BGR Onewaystreet (Brad Boeckenstedt), BGR Big Daddy (Brad Boeckenstedt), Hi Noon Revolver (Jacobs Racing), Keeper Cry (Xtrem Hess Racing).

0 POINTS: Imark Solo (Imark), Saber Port (Imark), Mega Felipe (A Ray), ASK China (Steve Sarras), WW Blonde Roast (Wayne Ward), Kris Was Righh (Brad Boeckenstedt), Pat C Zenith (Rangel).

bottom of page