Greyhound News
Back to News » 30-win plateau proves elusive for Wheeling greyhounds
Monday, June 20, 2016

From 2000 through 2009, greyhounds recorded 30 or more victories in six out of those 10 years of racing at Wheeling Island.
Since 2010, not one single greyhound has reached the 30-win plateau in a single calendar season. There’s a chance that may change when the 2016 racing season concludes in December.
Through June 19 races, Valor Racing Kennel’s HS Ruby was sitting atop the track win leader board with 14 victories with Lester Raines Kennel’s Atascocita Sig only one back with 13 wins. Two greyhounds were tied with 12 wins – Lester Raines Kennel’s B Flying Blake and Clear The Way Kennel’s CTW Pipe Down – while another pair – Cardinal Kennel’s Varoom Esme and Lester Raines Kennel’s Super C Ariel – have 11 victories.
Why has there been a decline in the number of greyhounds putting up big win seasons?
The main reason is the competition at Wheeling Island. All of this year’s win leaders are racing in Grade AA and face the best the track has to offer every time they go to the starting box.
“I think the main reason for the decline in 30-win greyhounds is directly related to the competition in Grade AA at Wheeling the last decade,” local greyhound historian Robin Reed said. “For years, there would be a handful of dominant greyhounds that everyone followed at any given time. Today, the Grade AA ranks are so stacked that parity has taken over and limited the win leaders’ threshold to the upper 20s.”
Another possible reason is the number of starts.
“The total number of starts is somewhat of a factor as well, but greyhounds such as Greys Beaver and Fortified Rush, to name a couple, managed to achieve 30 plus wins with 50 starts or less,” Reed noted. “So it can be done.”
In 2000, six greyhounds posted 30 victories or more – headed by track win champion Butter N Jam (36). Next in line were littermate Cheek To Cheek (35), Itsjustplaingood (34), Fortified Rush (31), Maker Me Strong (30) and Prima Gold Tone (30).
Other greyhounds posting 30 wins or more between 2000 and 2009 were Iruska All Star with 30 in 2001; Slatex Striker with 34 in 2003; Gable Pimento and Makin Bakin with 30 each in 2007; TK Quick Strike with 31 in 2008; and Kiowa Power Pak with 31 in 2009.
Following is a year by year breakdown of the track’s top winners.
1976 (track opened in August): Dixie Miler, 14; Roman Princess, 13; Prime Mover, 12.
1977: Slick Genius, 30; Cool Highway, 25; ML’s Sobo, 19.
1978: Diamond’s Rose, E.Z. Ike, 27 each; Terrific Miler, 22.
1979: Diamond’s Rose, 26; Madds Get Gone, Odd Receiver, 25 each.
1980: J’s Susie, 33; J’s Roxie, 30; Odd Receiver, 27.
1981: Friend Delilah, 47; Odd Express, 32; Hondo Pewter, 31.
1982: Friend Delilah, 36; K’s Moon, 33; Pecos Guitar Man, 30.
1983: Rebel’s Daisy, 38; Big Albert, 31; Dark Forces, 26.
1984: Yucca T, 36; Busted Buster, I’m Gangster, 29 each.
1985: Autumn Fire, 29; JV’s Julie Bear, 27; Steph’s Charm, 26.
1986: DD’s Nelson, 38; Julie’s Squealer, 31; Snaps Lady Ann, 25.
1987: W’s Prixy Fly, 37; Geepers Creepers, Texas Dark Side, 27 each.
1988: To The Top, 34; Cost Critter Lee, 32.
1989: Stage Door Ace, 29; BJ Joachim, 28; PJ’s Lost Code, 27.
1990: DC Jay Bird, 42; Stage Door Ace, 38; My Reeboker, 27.
1991: Greys Beaver, 33; Bon Jovi’s Style, Issy Sharp, 23 each.
1992: Greys Beaver, 34; Snaps Swam Song, 26; Sweet Run, 24.
1993: Casual Casey, 39; Ben G Desire, 36; Irish Michael, 33.
1994: Casual Casey, 31.
1995: Rowdy Garth, 26; Carol Roseann, 25; Kiowa Day Jazz, SMA’s Bessemer, 23 each.
1996: Kiowa Day Jazz, 41; Gem E Grela, 33; P’s Rainyway, 26.
1997: Mi Nice Catch, 31; Hobos Rocksteady, 26; Areba, 25.
1998: DB’s Dolcie Dash, 39; Jimbo Scotty, 33; Mule Power, 27.
1999: Prima Gold Tone, 40; WW Time Warp, 36; Itsjustplaingood, 34; Flaming Glory, 33; Iruska Zederiah, 31.
2000: Butter N Jam, 36; Cheek To Cheek, 35; Itsjustplaingood, 34; Fortified Rush, 31; Maker Me Strong, Prima Gold Tone, 30 each.
2001: Iruska All Star, 30; Prima Montecarlo, 26; Luckydeals Honor, 25.
2002: Clair Dolan, 27; Gene’s Champion, 26; WW Jamboree, 22.
2003: Slatex Striker, 34; Cry Amy, TMC’s Josalynn, 28 each; WW Nick Of Time, 27.
2004: Greys Royalcrown, 23; Great Escapade, 21; Hallo Exchange, Rooftop Gizmo, 19 each.
2005: Nimby TP Jan, 27; Heck Of A Ruckus, 23; Kiowa Mon Manny, 20.
2006: BB Becool, 28; Rhythmless, 26; Iruska Creme Pie, 22.
2007: Gable Pimento, Makin Bakin, 30 each; Mulberry Gus, 26.
2008: TK Quick Strike, 31; Braska Omni, Kiowa WW Brother, 22 each.
2009: Kiowa Power Pak, 31; Hi Noon Hero, 28; Gable Sour Cream, 27.
2010: Bonafide Speed, KB’s Ruckus, WP’s Cameo, 23 each; Cry Case, 22.
2011: AMF Ex President, 28; WW’s Dog Gone, Bella Cubanaro, 22 each.
2012: CTW Bronze Drake, 28; WWK Win Day, 20; Flesk Flyer, 19.
2013: Flying Lone Wolf, Go Bon Coaltrain, 20; Bob’s Cassie, 18.
2014: Kiowa Leer Loyd, 24; Flyin Man Of God, 22; Whiskey Annie, Go Bon Coaltrain, 21.
2015: AMF Sleekstrangr, 26; Atascocita Santo, Heck Yeah, 20 each.


I was introduced to greyhound racing by a friend in the late 1970s at Wheeling Downs and fell in love with the sport and the athletes immediately. Throughout the years, I have developed a deep passion for racing. In the mid 1990s, I started writing a weekly greyhound column and shortly thereafter became a writer for The Greyhound Review.

I have enjoyed watching and writing about these wonderful competitors, including All-Americans DD's Nelson, Kiowa Sweet Trey, Gene's Champion, WW Apple Jax, Greys Royalcrown, Nimby TP Jan, Hi Noon Hero, Gable Sour Cream, KB's Ruckus and Cry Case.