Greyhound News
Back to News » Field cut to 32 in Wheeling Island National
Monday, May 15, 2017

Two greyhounds breezed through the first three qualifying rounds of the $95,000 Wheeling Island National Stakes undefeated.

Posting their third consecutive victories Sunday afternoon were Charter Kennel’s Barts Im Joekool and Brad Boeckenstedt Kennel’s BGR Dustybottoms. Other third round winners were Steve Sarras Kennel’s Carly Pearce and Rex Ryan, Jacobs Racing Kennel’s SG’s Bob Uecker and Charter Kennel’s Dont Let Me Down.

The field will be cut to 32 greyhounds and the point totals will start over for the remaining two rounds of qualifying.

The fourth round is scheduled for Friday afternoon, May 19, and the fifth round on Wednesday afternoon, May 24. The top eight point earners from these two rounds advance to the championship final with the next eight moving on to the consolation final on Monday, May 29 (Memorial Day).

The stakes is for pups whelped (born) between July 1, 2015, and Dec. 31, 2015.

Capsule reviews of the third round races follow:

Barts Im Joekool rushed out to an early lead and never looked back in rolling to a 4 ½-length victory in 30.06. SG’s Arnie Army and JW Kit Kat rounded out the trifecta ticket.

Carly Pearce took charge early and was never seriously challenged in winning by 2 ½ lengths in 29.35. WW Jimmythe Geek and Tim Raines were second and third all around the track.

Rex Ryan roared home from fourth in the stretch to catch frontrunner Barts Wynn by 1 ½ lengths in 29.68. Konomi settled for third – just another length back.

SG’s Bob Uecker drove to the early lead and never let up in romping to a 5 ½-length victory in 29.94. Barts Send It grabbed second while Maren Morris closed for third.

BGR Dustybottoms kicked it in down the stretch to overtake pacesetter JS Kamikazi and pull away for a 3-length victory in 30.03. Barts Justenuff completed the trifecta ticket.

Dont Let Me Down posted a box-to-wire 1-length victory – holding off Superior Cannon at the wire in 30.12. Nina Myers was a distant third.

The point totals after the third round follow (the top 32 advance to the next round):

Barts Im Joekool (Charter), 48 points

GR Dustybottoms (Brad Boeckenstedt), 48 points

Barts Send It (Charter) 40 points

Carly Pearce (Steve Sarras), 40 points

Rex Ryan (Steve Sarras), 38 points

SG’s Bob Uecker (Jacobs Racing), 38 points

Superior Calder (Brad Boeckenstedt), 28 points

Barts Wynn (Charter), 26 points

Dont Let Me Down (Charter), 26 points

Konomi (A Ray), 22 points

WW Jimmythe Geek (Wayne Ward), 22 points

Superior Cannon (Brad Boeckenstedt), 20 points

LB’s Tam Toby (Jacobs Racing), 17 points

JW Kit Kat (Patriot/Taplin), 16 points

SG’s Arnie Army (Jacobs Racing), 16 points

Cashontheline (Lester Raines), 15 points

Tim Raines (Charter), 15 points

Celebrity Status (Jacobs Racing), 13 points

WW Vespa (Wayne Ward), 12 points

Nina Myers (Steve Sarras) 12 points

Beautiful Tease (Lester Raines), 11 points

SE’s Web Wacker (Lester Raines), 11 points

PJ Whattheywant (Steve Sarras), 11 points

Artex Vernon (Abrahamson), 10 points

Starinthemaking (Jacobs Racing), 10 points

BS Spice Me Up (Brad Boeckenstedt), 10 points

Ban Chini (Steve Sarras), 10 points

WW Jethro Gibbs (Wayne Ward), 10 points

WW Pascal (Wayne Ward), 10 points

Maren Morris (Steve Sarras), 10 points

JS Kamikazi (Patriot/Taplin), 10 points

Barts Justenuff (Steve Sarras), 9 points

The following greyhounds were eliminated from the stakes event:

WW Pool Side (Wayne Ward), 9 points

David Palmer (Steve Sarras), 8 points

Kinda Dont Care (Steve Sarras), 7 points

FF Warrior (Abrahamson), 7 points

Top Line (Clear The Way), 7 points

Kanji (A Ray), 7 points

Brock N Roll (Clear The Way), 6 points

Wannabe Thatsong (Charter), 6 points

Jason Martini (Steve Sarras), 5 points

Christina Perri (Steve Sarras), 3 points

Alicia Sacramone (Steve Sarras), 3 points

Charter Kennel’s Kenny Lofton had accumulated 18 points, but received a “checked first turn” ruling from the judges in the third round and thus eliminated.

I was introduced to greyhound racing by a friend in the late 1970s at Wheeling Downs and fell in love with the sport and the athletes immediately. Throughout the years, I have developed a deep passion for racing. In the mid 1990s, I started writing a weekly greyhound column and shortly thereafter became a writer for The Greyhound Review.

I have enjoyed watching and writing about these wonderful competitors, including All-Americans DD's Nelson, Kiowa Sweet Trey, Gene's Champion, WW Apple Jax, Greys Royalcrown, Nimby TP Jan, Hi Noon Hero, Gable Sour Cream, KB's Ruckus and Cry Case.