top of page


Stan Pawloski

Oct 10, 2022

Four favorites posted opening round victories as the $65,000 West Virginia Greyhound Owners and Breeders Association Panhandle Championship kicked off Friday afternoon at Wheeling Island.

Heading into the Wednesday, Oct. 12, second round, CET Barracuda, RS’s Dark Night, CET Moto Moto and CET Dirty Dan have each accumulated 15 points on the strength of their first-round victories to top the leaderboard.

The semi-finals are set for Sunday afternoon, Oct. 16, and the stake final is scheduled for the Friday, Oct. 21, matinee card.

Capsule looks at the first-round races follow:

CET Barracuda jumped out to an early lead and never looked back in winning by 7 ½ lengths in 30.20. TS Pretty Boy and RS’s Power House rounded out the trifecta ticket.

RS’s Dark Night rushed to the top early and was never challenged in posting a 4-length victory in 30.20. CET Fernando and RS’s Railhauler completed the trifecta.

CET Moto Moto closed in the homestretch, getting up by a length at the wire in 30.78. RS’s Happyharper finished second as frontrunner CET Dirty Mike held on for third.

CET Dirty Dan powered to the front early and won easily by 4 lengths in 29.82. CET Piranha was second followed by CET Sashaligotti.

Points after the first-round follow:

CET Barracuda (Imark), 15 points CET Dirty Dan (Steve Sarras), 15 points CET Moto Moto (Steve Sarras), 15 points RS’s Dark Night (Lester Raines), 15 points

CET Piranha (Imark), 10 points RS’s Happy Harper (Lester Raines), 10 points CET Fernando (Imark), 10 points TS Pretty Boy (Steve Sarras), 10 points

RS’s Power House (Lester Raines), 7 points RS’s Railhauler (Lester Raines), 7 points CET Dirty Mike (Steve Sarras), 7 points CET Sashaligotti (Steve Sarras), 7 points

RS’s Blue Heaven (Lester Raines), 5 points CET Marlin (Imark), 5 points Mac’s Sidnyjames (A Ray), 5 points CET Tiger Boy (Steve Sarras), 5 points

RS’s Dunkindylan (Lester Raines), 3 points RS’s Super Freak (Lester Raines), 3 points Rico’s Hell Yeah (A Ray), 3 points GLS Blondie (Jacobs Racing), 3 points

RS’s Big Jake (Lester Raines), 2 points Arroyo Roxanne (Code Red), 2 points CET Foxy (Steve Sarras), 2 points CET Musketeer (Steve Sarras), 2 points

CET Dirty Stella (Steve Sarras), 1 point

bottom of page