top of page


Stan Pawloski

Feb 17, 2021

Wheeling Island win champion WW Slick Simon has been selected captain of the 2020 all-Wheeling team.

The Wayne Ward Kennel sprinter, owned by Jaws Racing and trained by Ron Otto, won 17 races last year in a season cut short by three months by the coronavirus pandemic. WW Slick Simon is the kennel’s first track win champion since it was booked at Wheeling in late 1999.

WW Slick Simon, an April 2017 greyhound out of Kiowa Producer-WW’s Polished, came to Wheeling Island in early 2019 after opening his career at Southland Greyhound Park. He was the consensus choice to head the 10-greyhound team.

For the first time since the all-Wheeling honors were launched in 2009, a greyhound has earned a spot on the team for three straight years – Blanchard Kennel’s L’s Luv It. The sprinter was recognized in 2018, 2019 and now 2020 for her accomplishments.

The recently retired L’s Luv It captured 46 races in her last three years and made the final of the $100,000 Mountaineer Classic Sprint Stakes every season, finishing third in 2018.

In addition to L’s Luv It, two other greyhounds on the 2020 team are repeats from last year – Lester Raines Kennel’s JS Drinkmepretty and Jacobs Racing Kennel’s JSK Roulette.

Three kennels placed a pair of greyhounds on the 2020 all-Wheeling team – Craigie Pirate and JS Drinkmepretty, Lester Raines Kennel; JS Go Flex and JSK Roulette, Jacobs Racing Kennel; CTW Tira Misu and TNT Free Falling, Patriot/Taplin Kennel.

Rounding out the 2020 all-Wheeling team are BGR Big Al, Brad Boeckenstedt Kennel; and CG’s Penny Shoe, Abrahamson Kennel.

The all-Wheeling team was selected by local greyhound historian Robin Reed and Pawloski.

The criteria used to determine the selections included number of wins, winning percentage, in the money finishes, win streaks, stakes performances and overall records. 

Accomplishments of the all-Wheeling members follow:

            WW SLICK SIMON, Captain (47-17-8-5-6) – track win champion, 14 victories in Grade AA; had a stretch of 4 wins and 3 seconds in seven AA starts; 77 percent on the superfecta ticket; 64 percent on the trifecta. 

            CRAIGIE PIRATE (34-15-5-5-3) – second in wins, 11 victories in Grade AA; had a 4-race win streak; finalist Mountaineer Classic Sprint Stakes; 82 percent superfecta mark; 74 percent trifecta mark; 8 wins, 3 seconds, 1 third and 1 fourth in a 13-race stretch.

            L’S LUV IT (44-14-9-5-7) – tied for third in wins, 12 victories in Grade AA; finalist Mountaineer Classic Sprint Stakes; had a 3-race win streak; 80 percent superfecta mark; 64 percent trifecta finish.


CTW TIRA MISU (33-14-6-0-4) – tied for third in wins, 12 victories in Grade AA; had 3-race win streak; 73 percent superfecta mark; 61 percent trifecta finish.

JS GO FLEX (41-13-4-6-5) – fourth in wins, most by 3/8th racer, 11 victories in Grade TAA; wins by 10 ½, 10, 9 ½, 9, 6, 5 ½ (twice) and 5 lengths; 68 percent superfecta mark; 56 percent trifecta finish.


       JS DRINKMEPRETTY (38-12-8-7-3) – tied for fifth in wins, 11 victories in Grade AA; had a three-race win streak; in a 12-race stretch, had 7 wins, 3 seconds, 1 third and 1 fourth; 79 percent superfecta mark; 71 percent trifecta finish.


BGR BIG AL (46-12-10-4-6) – tied for fifth in wins, 8 victories in Grade AA; had a pair of 3-race win streaks; in an 11-race stretch, had 7 wins and 3 seconds; 70 percent superfecta mark; 57 percent trifecta finish.


         JSK ROULETTE (33-10-6-7-3) – 10 wins in Grade AA; 4-race win streak; 79 percent superfecta finish; 70 percent trifecta mark.


          TNT FREE FALLING (48-10-12-9-9) – 9 wins in Grade AA; runner up in Mountaineer Classic Sprint Stakes; had a 3-race win streak; 88 percent superfecta finish; 65 percent trifecta mark.


          CG’s PENNY SHOE (12-2-3-3-0) – captured the Mountaineer Classic Sprint Stakes; finalist WVGOBA Sprint Championship; 67 percent superfecta and trifecta marks.

            Past all-Wheeling selections include:

            2019 – GF La Duena (Captain), L’s Griz, L’s Luv It, JS Drinkmepretty, DS Bubbles, High Wire Willy, JSK Roulette, Mac’s Glightfoot, WW’s Chewbacca, Imark Grande.

            2018 – L’s Griz (Captain), AMF Loose End, Royal Daddys Boy, L’s Luv It, SH Rattler, CTW San Marcos, JS Kamikazi, JSK Lubbock, Boc’s Palat, Kelsos Ukulele. 

            2017 – Barts Outofmyway (Captain), KB’s Baymax, AMF Ex Quigley, Konomi, SH Rattler, Kinda Cruel Red, Varoom Bristol, Boc’s Jezebel, Dont Let Me Down, Flower Girl.

            2016 – Varoom Esme (Captain), Super C Ariel, Barts Outofmyway, Atascocita Sig, Craigiepridenjoy, SE’s Solid Cash, Kinda Cruel Red, GLS Lover Boy, Boc’s Betty Jo, HS Ruby.

            2015 – AMF Sleekstrangr (Captain), Ted Cruz, AMF Spamwich, Atascocita Santo, Heck Yeah, HS Ruby, Varoom Esme, Fortune City, PJ Pure Gold, Napa Know How, CTW Leona Brown, Whiskey Babe.

            2014 – Kiowa Leer Loyd (Captain), Flyin Man Of God, Go Bon Coaltrain, Whiskey Annie, WW’s Ignite Fire, Kiowa Dash Fast, Atascocita Santo, Tigertown Roo, Glossy Glow, CTW Pipe Down.

            2013 – Flying Lone Wolf (Captain), Go Bon Coaltrain, Go Bon Wego, KB’s Try This On, Kebo Greta Garbo, AMF Can Can, Jumper Jack, WWK Win Day, Whiskey Annie, Bob’s Cassie.

            2012 – CTW Bronze Drake (Captain), WWK Win Day, Flesk Flyer, WW’s I Agent, AMF Ex President, Uhaul Woody, Hero Kal, RS’s Locomotive, Call For Help, Hallo Sugardaddy.

            2011 – AMF Ex President (Captain), WW’s Dog Gone, WW’s Patriots, WW’s Kay Quarter, Flesk Flyer, Dakotas Alene, Bella Cubanaro, Cry Exxon, Red Rooster Bonz, Braska Hottie, Scott So Bright, HS Bolt.

            2010 – KB’s Ruckus (Captain), WP’s Cameo, KB’s Nantucket, Gale WW Wanika, WW’s Dog Gone, CTW Speedy Trent, Cry Case, Its Orozco, Bonafide Speed, Flying Burgundy.

            2009 – Gable Sour Cream (Captain), Hi Noon Hero, Kiowa Power Pak, Kiowa Magnate, Kiowa Lee Philli, Kiowa Myth, BD’s Grayson, Bella Leonidas, Kiowa WW Brother, TK Quick Strike.

bottom of page