top of page


Stan Pawloski

Sep 11, 2023

Three Code Red Kennel greyhounds – CG’s Nail Biter, Arroyo Duchess and Arroyo Deon – posted victories Friday afternoon in the first round of the $35,000 West Virginia Greyhound Owners and Breeders Association Juvenile Stakes at Wheeling Island.

Xtrem Hess Racing Kennel’s Wild Blue Bee also registered a first-round win.

Heading into the Wednesday afternoon, Sept. 13 second round, the four sprinters have accumulated 15 points to top the leader board.

The semi-finals are set for Sunday, Sept. 17, and the juvenile stake final is scheduled for Saturday matinee, Sept. 23.

Capsule looks at the first-round races follow: CG’s Nail Biter rushed to an early lead and never looked back in winning by 6 lengths in 30.24. Wild Chomp Dude closed late for second while BJ’s Goldie settled for third.

Arroyo Duchess posted a box-to-wire 4-length victory in 30.31. Four Roses finished second and CET Dirty Skinny closed in the stretch to round out the trifecta ticket.

Arroyo Deon jumped out to an early lead before holding off CG’s Honesty by 1 ½ lengths in 30.38. CET Mist was third on the ticket.

Wild Blue Bee powered home from third in the stretch, pulling away to a 6-length victory in 30.57. Frontrunner BJ’s Montie took second with CG’s Sun Storm third.

Points after the first-round follow:

CG’s Nail Biter (Code Red), 15 points Arroyo Duchess (Code Red), 15 points Arroyo Deon (Code Red), 15 points Wild Blue Bee (Xtrem Hess Racing), 15 points

CG’s Honesty (Code Red), 10 points Four Roses (Steve Sarras), 10 points BJ’s Montie (Jacobs Racing), 10 points Wild Chomp Dude (Xtrem Hess Racing), 10 points

CET Mist (Steve Sarras), 7 points CG’s Sun Storm (Code Red), 7 points CET Dirty Skinny (Steve Sarras), 7 points BJ’s Goldie (Jacobs Racing), 7 points

Arroyo Rylee (Code Red), 5 points Kebo Lucky Lady (Steve Sarras), 5 points CET Mc Gregor (Wayne Ward), 5 points CET Mulligan (Wayne Ward), 5 points

CET Zinc (Imark), 3 points CET Nickel (Imark), 3 points CET Dirty Tom (Steve Sarras), 3 points TS Adesanya (Steve Sarras), 3 points

CET Lithium (Imark), 2 points CET Jasper (Steve Sarras), 2 points CET Murphy (Steve Sarras), 2 points BJ’s Willie (Jacobs Racing), 2 points

CET Bronze (Imark), 1 point Gullane (Steve Sarras), 1 point CET Valley (Wayne Ward), 1 point CET Flood (Wayne Ward), 1 point

CET Murray (Wayne Ward), 0 points TS Nate Diaz (Steve Sarras), 0 points CET Mc Carthy (Wayne Ward), 0 points BJ’s Bodie (Jacobs Racing), 0 points

bottom of page